My IPad and I are great friends in the morning, especially when you add Netflix into the mix. I do all my cooking by the light of Mad Men and Weeds, along with quite a few movies that the husband would pass on. Food, Inc., King Corn, Craigslist Joe - and this morning - No Impact Man.

The movie is about a man along with his family who aims to have no impact on the planet. Over the course of the year they give up all that is not local. They buy nothing new and turn off their electricity living by candlelight. Travel only by bike/scooter/foot and minimize waste as much as possible. (No toilet paper? Yikes)

Over the past year or so I've tried my own take at lowering my impact. We started off by composting.
It's amazing how little goes in the garbage (or down the drain) when this bucket goes in the composter week after week.

I recycle too but that alone is debatable as the process of recycling is not always earth friendly - and a lot of what you put in your recycle bins may not be recyclable at all. But overall recycling some is better than recycling none. It still boggles my mind that there are people who choose not to recycle, even when they're already paying for the service that would pick it righ up a their curb.

My biggest change by far came January 14th of this year when I decided to take the plunge and give up meat. And amazingly it hasn't been nearly as hard as I thought. I had slowly lessened my meat intake for some time and I generally would choose leafy greens over a bloody burger. Learning about the global impact of meat has really put into perspective to me how if I don't need it, and especially I'd I don't miss it, then why consume it.

I still eat dairy and eggs (obviously based on my post on egg toppers) but I limit the amount of cheese and milk that I take in. Greek yogurt and eggs are my two animal products that I don't think I could give up on, at least not now. Trying to always keep those vices organic and cage free is a plus and a must but I do understand that the dairy an egg industry is nearly as much of a burden as the big meat suppliers.

So I try to have the most colorful plate with every meal.

Farmers market season is upon us here in the mitten so the next step is to try and ensure that as much of the color on my plate comes from as close as possible to my home. (The only tough part of that for me is getting my butt out the door on a Saturday morning)

I'm not anti meat. I said when I made the switch that if there was an opportunity for me to have meat I wouldn't be opposed if I knew where the meat came from and knew the process it went through. For example my dad is a hunter - if he served something he hunted I'd feel more comfortable eating it because I know it's local, and I know how it was processed (or not processed).

I may not live without electricity. I may not live without my car. But I feel that making small changes is better than no changes. And choosing changes that lessen my impact make me feel like I'm making some sort of difference.



Leave a Reply.